How to Pre-fill Permissions from a Linked Project

Last updated July 04, 2022
Written by Princess Luzadas

Linking a project to a contract allows filtering of contracts by project. This enables a feature Prefill from linked Project in which it copies permissions from linked project.


Pre-fill permissions from a linked project on a new contract

To pre-fill permissions on a new contract:

  1. In Contract Summary section, update the Project field by clicking the field. A list of projects will be shown as dropdown.
  2. Select the project that you would like to link to the contract.
  3. Scroll down the page and go to Access section.
  4. Select from the following options:
    • Anyone can view and edit (Default)
    • Anyone can view, editing restricted - The Contract Owner has required permission by default.
    • Select who can view and edit - The Contract Owner has required permission by default.
      • You can add users or teams and set the type of access they should have by clicking the Add new permission button.
      • To remove users or teams access to the contract, click the trash bin icon.
  5. To copy the permissions from the linked project, click the Prefill from linked Project button.



Pre-fill permissions from a linked project on an existing contract

To pre-fill permissions on an existing contract:

  1. Navigate to Contracts from your Felix dashboard.
  2. Locate the contract you want to edit the permission by using the quick search or filters.
  3. Click on the Contract Number.
  4. Click the Actions button at the top right corner.
  5. Select Edit Contract Summary.
  6. In Contract Summary section, update the Project field by clicking the field. A list of projects will be shown as dropdown.
  7. Select the project that you would like to link to the contract.
  8. Click Save.
  9. Go to the Permissions tab.
  10. Select from the following options:
    • Anyone can view and edit (Default)
    • Anyone can view, editing restricted - The Contract Owner has required permission by default.
    • Select who can view and edit - The Contract Owner has required permission by default.
      • You can add users or teams and set the type of access they should have by clicking the Add new permission button.
      • To remove users or teams access to the contract, click the trash bin icon.
  11. To copy the permissions from the linked project, click the Prefill from linked Project button.
  12. Click Save.


  • You can only link the projects you have view or edit access to.
  • When copying project permissions to a contract then saving it, the contract will not update with the project permission changes.

Was this article helpful?